Final three Independence-class LMVs commissioned into Singapore Navy

The Republic of Singapore Navy's entire fleet of eight Independence-class littoral mission vessels at Tuas Naval Base (Photo: Ministry of Defence of Singapore)

The Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) commissioned three Independence-class littoral mission vessels (LMVs) into service in a ceremony on Friday, January 31.

RSS Fortitude, RSS Dauntless, and RSS Fearless are the final three of eight LMVs built for the RSN by local shipbuilder ST Engineering Marine.

The Independence-class vessels will replace the RSN’s 1990s-era Fearless-class patrol ships, two of which are still in service.

Baird Maritime

The best maritime site on the web. The sea's our scene!