UK MoD unveils name of second Dreadnought-class submarine

Image: BAE Systems
Image: BAE Systems

The Royal Navy’s second Dreadnought-class nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarine will be named HMS Valiant, the UK Ministry of Defence (MoD) announced on Thursday, December 6.

It is the latest of six Royal Navy warships to carry the name Valiant. The fifth was Britain’s second nuclear-powered submarine, in service from 1966 to 1994.

The future HMS Valiant will measure 153.6 metres long and displace 17,200 tonnes. Armament will include Spearfish heavy torpedoes and Trident submarine-launched ballistic missiles housed in 12 vertical launch tubes.

Baird Maritime

The best maritime site on the web. The sea's our scene!